Thread Start New Thread 
Last Poster Posts Pages Last Post

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message
gmcd
Username: gmcd

Post Number: 1

Rating: N/A
Votes: 0

Thursday, July 01, 2010 - 11:50 am:Copy highlighted text to 'New Message' boxEdit Post Delete Post Print Post    View Post/Check IP (Moderator/Admin only) Ban Poster IP (Moderator/Admin only) Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Hi All,

I am new to trading and am still in the early stage of researching the area before I consider trading for real. I've been reading Elder's Come into my Trading room as well as Weinstein's book and I've also been paper trading using Snifter's system.

These approaches stress the importance of using a safety stop which seems very sensible for those of us who cannot be at their computer all the time, however there also seems to be a danger when the markets drop rapidly such as in the case of the flash crash that occurred a couple of months ago. My understanding is that many trades were exited far from the stop loss point due to the markets dropping rapidly and some trades were exited after a 60% drop in price. I was wondering if any of you take steps to minimize the risk of being caught in such a situation and yet still get the benefits of having a stop in place (perhaps using limit orders?).

jaded
Username: jaded

Post Number: 233

Rating: 
Votes: 1

Friday, July 02, 2010 - 06:31 pm:Copy highlighted text to 'New Message' boxEdit Post Delete Post Print Post    View Post/Check IP (Moderator/Admin only) Ban Poster IP (Moderator/Admin only) Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

gmcd wrote on Thursday, July 01, 2010 - 11:50 am:

These approaches stress the importance of using a safety stop which seems very sensible for those of us who cannot be at their computer all the time, however there also seems to be a danger when the markets drop rapidly such as in the case of the flash crash that occurred a couple of months ago.